BizTalk 2010 BAM Tools Installation Woes

February 7, 2012 at 8:59 am 4 comments

Next week I’ll be training a new BizTalk administrator for a client so today I spent most of the morning setting up a single VM with BizTalk 2010 in order to better explain the themes and concepts I plan to cover in the training.

If you haven’t  worked with BizTalk 2010 before you can get the Installation guide at Microsoft Download Center. The general procedure is quite simple and straight forward. Once you have installed the product you proceed to configure it using the Microsoft BizTalk Server Configuration Wizard.

image

Because this client has a Business Activity Monitoring (BAM) infrastructure I needed to also configure BAM in the VM. BAM also is a no brainer to configure and I myself have successfully done it before so I was quite surprised when the configuration failed with the following logged error message:

image

ERROR: Failed to set up BAM database(s).
There was a failure while executing nscontrol.exe. Error:"Microsoft Notification Services Control Utility 9.0.242.0
c Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved.

An error was encountered when running this command.
Could not load file or assembly ‘Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo, Version=9.0.242.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91’ or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

" (Microsoft.BizTalk.Bam.CfgExtHelper.Utility)

The Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo comes with the Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Management Objects Collection and as a prerequisite software I had installed it before installing BizTalk, It should be present in the in the VM! I looked for the DLL in the GAC but only found the version 10 installed. This was the version corresponding to the Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 installed in the VM. This shouldn’t be a problem because the SQL 2005 and 2008 versions of the assembly can coexist without a problem.

image

If the Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo.dll assembly wasn’t installed in the GAC I expected at least to find it in the “C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\90\SDK\Assemblies” path but to my surprise this directory didn’t even exist anymore!

image

Some program had completely uninstalled the Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Management Objects Collection and if I tried to reinstall it I couldn’t because a newer version was detected. I suspected this was because the Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 Management Objects were installed, but even if I uninstalled them the conflicting version error kept showing up.

image

By this point I was pretty sure of two things:

1) Some program I installed before BizTalk had removed the Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Management Objects.

2) This same program wasn’t allowing me to reinstall the Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Management Objects because a conflict of versions.

I started to review my installation log and the only viable suspect was SharePoint Foundation 2010. Because I was installing everything in a single VM this was the first time I was using a configuration like that. I was sure the problem wasn’t SharePoint Foundation 2010 per se but some of the programs installed by it as prerequisites.

I found a very complete list of these prerequisites at Manish Patil’s Blog. Almost all of these programs seem quite innocuous but for one, SQL 2008 R2 Reporting Services SharePoint 2010 Add-in. I searched online for some clue about any incompatibility between the Reporting Services Add-in and the SQL 2005 Management Objects but nothing come out.

image

Nevertheless something kept telling me this program was the main cause of the problem so after I made sure there was an offline installer of the plug-in, in case my hunch proved to be wrong, I uninstalled it and tried to reinstall the SQL 2005 Management Objects.

I was right and this time the SQL 2005 Management Objects installation was uneventful and finally I was able to correctly configure BAM in the VM.

image

I am still trying to figure it out what could be the reason why the SQL Server 2008 R2 Reporting Services Add-in uninstalls and blocks the SQL 2005 Management Objects. I have shared my finding with some colleagues at Microsoft. As soon as I have an answer from them I’ll let you know.

In the mean time, if you are installing a VM or development server and need to have SharePoint Foundation 2010 and BAM side by side uninstall the SQL Server 2008 R2 Reporting Services Add-in to avoid further headaches.

Entry filed under: BizTalk. Tags: , , .

Configuring the WSS adapter in BizTalk 2010 Entreprise Single Sign-On Configuration Error

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  October 7, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Thank you so much for this. I was under a lot of pressure to complete an installation of BizTalk 2010 and this particular problem happened to me in exactly the way you described. I followed your wonderfully clear instructions and it worked perfectly – I got that lovely green tick that I’d been longing for. I was so happy! Thanks again for saving my bacon.

    Reply
  • 2. vaibu  |  October 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Thank you, it is helpful.

    Answer : Just make sure all the bam prerequisites (2005 versions) are installed correctly.

    Reply
  • 3. Sujay Paranjape  |  October 23, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks a lot! This saved me a lot of time.

    Reply
  • 4. Steve Culshaw  |  April 17, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Excellent post … really helped me when I was drawing a blank.

    Many thanks for sharing

    Cheers,
    SteveC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Categories


